Category: Biography

Sort

Showing 61-80 of 160

Pat Burns : Cattle King

By: Grant MacEwan

Price: $75.00

Publisher: Western Producer Prairie Books: January 1979

Seller ID: 31833

ISBN: 0888330359

Condition: Used - Acceptable


shelve wear on the cover , Book has shelve wear on corners of spine and along edges of spine. book. View more info

Peter the Great

By: Henri Troyat

Price: $5.00

Publisher: Dutton Adult: September 1987

Seller ID: 15373

ISBN: 0525245472

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Jules Verne and His Work

By: Idrisyn Oliver Evans

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Amereon Ltd: July 1982

Seller ID: 42614

ISBN: 0884119068

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Clarence Darrow for the Defense

By: Irving Stone

Price: $25.00

Publisher: Garden City Publishing Co. Inc.: January 1945

Seller ID: 4906

ISBN: B001738ZNS

Condition: Used - Good


Name of previous owner on inside. Slight shelve wear on the cover View more info

The Borgias

By: Ivan Cloulas

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Barnes & Noble Books: June 1993

Seller ID: 38428

ISBN: 0880298065

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Dream Maker: The Rise and Fall of John Z. DeLorean

By: Ivan Fallon, James Srodes

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Putnam Pub Group (T): November 1985

Seller ID: 38388

ISBN: 0399128212

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for The Tender Bar: A Memoir

The Tender Bar: A Memoir

By: J. R. Moehringer

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Hyperion: August 2006

Seller ID: 27723

ISBN: 0786888768

Condition: Used - Good


The "New York Times" bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of "This Boy's Life" and "The Liar's Club," a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would st... View more info

The Life of Samuel Johnson

By: James Boswell

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Doubleday and Co.: January 1946

Seller ID: 38431

ISBN: B0007E0CF2

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for All Things Wise and Wonderful

All Things Wise and Wonderful

By: James Herriot

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Pan Books: November 1979

Seller ID: 35522

ISBN: 0330258842

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Lindbergh vs. Roosevelt: The Rivalry That Divided America

Lindbergh vs. Roosevelt: The Rivalry That Divided America

By: James P. Duffy

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Regnery Publishing: October 2010

Seller ID: 34879

ISBN: 1596986018

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Deadline: A Memoir

By: James Reston Jr.

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Random House: October 1991

Seller ID: 38382

ISBN: 0394585585

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Uphill All the Way

By: James Sloter

Price: $6.50

Publisher: Morris Publishing: January 2003

Inscription: Signed By Author

Seller ID: 18047

ISBN: 0974833304

Condition: Used - Like New


Used like new copy. View more info

Grace: The Secret Lives of a Princess. An Intimate Biography of Grace Kelly

By: James Spada

Price: $2.50

Publisher: Dell: April 1988

Seller ID: 46579

ISBN: 0440201071

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Daughter of Destiny

Daughter of Destiny

By: Jamie Buckingham

Price: $2.00

Publisher: Bridge Logos Pub: June 1978

Seller ID: 49413

ISBN: 0882703188

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for The Richest Woman in America: Hetty Green in the Gilded Age

The Richest Woman in America: Hetty Green in the Gilded Age

By: Janet Wallach

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Nan A. Talese: September 2012

Seller ID: 44715

ISBN: 0385531974

Condition: Used - Good


A captivating biography of America's first female tycoon, Hetty Green, the iconoclast who forged one of the greatest fortunes of her time. No woman in the Gilded Age made as much money as Hetty Green. At the time of her death in 1916, she was worth at least 100 million dollars, equal to more than 2 billion dollars today. A strong believer in women being financially independent, she offered valuable lessons for the present times. Abandoned at birth by her neur... View more info

Desert Queen: The Extraordinary Life of Gertrude Bell: Adventurer, Adviser to Kings, Ally of Lawrence of Arabia

By: Janet Wallach

Price: $5.50

Publisher: Anchor: June 1999

Seller ID: 51237

ISBN: 0385495757

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Katherine Anne Porter: A Sense of the Times (Minds of the New South)

Katherine Anne Porter: A Sense of the Times (Minds of the New South)

By: Janis P. Stout

Price: $8.00

Publisher: Univ of Virginia Pr: June 1995

Seller ID: 38394

ISBN: 0813915686

Condition: Used - Good


Katherine Anne Porter's life closely paralleled that of her century not only in its span (1890-1980) but in its interests and contradictions. A communist sympathizer who became a quasi fascist, a cosmopolitan who embraced southern agrarianism, a femme fatale whose writings nonetheless evince feminist feeling, Porter embodied, often at their extremes, the major currents of her time and ours. In this new biography Janis P. Stout argues that these inconsistencies can be ... View more info

Image for The Glass Castle: A Memoir

The Glass Castle: A Memoir

By: Jeannette Walls

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Scribner: January 2006

Seller ID: 29818

ISBN: 074324754X

Condition: Used - Good


Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, who painted and wrote and ... View more info

Image for The Glass Castle: A Memoir

The Glass Castle: A Memoir

By: Jeannette Walls

Price: $5.50

Publisher: Scribner: January 2006

Seller ID: 44950

ISBN: 074324754X

Condition: Used - Good


Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic, brilliant man who, when sober, captured his children s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and above all, how to embrace life fearlessly. Rose Mary, who painted and wrote and ... View more info

Everybody's Man: A Biography of Jimmy Stewart

By: Jhan Robbins

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Putnam Pub Group (T): January 1985

Seller ID: 34878

ISBN: 0399129731

Condition: Used - Good


View more info