Category: Adventure

Sort

Showing 1-18 of 18

On Foot in Arizona's Red Rock Country: Seven Spectacular Hikes With Interpretive Guide (2nd Edition, Includes Trail Maps)

By: N/A

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Stephan M. Block (Self-published): January 1991

Seller ID: 18424

ISBN: B0073BGNBY

Condition: Used - Good


Slight shelve wear on the cover View more info

Image for Rescue: Stories of Survival from Land and Sea (Adrenaline)

Rescue: Stories of Survival from Land and Sea (Adrenaline)

By: Miller, Dorcas S.

Price: $4.50

Publisher: Thunder's Mouth Press: April 2000

Seller ID: 76019

ISBN: 1560252588

Condition: Used - Very Good


View more info

Image for The Climb: Tragic Ambitions on Everest

The Climb: Tragic Ambitions on Everest

By: Anatoli Boukreev, G. Weston DeWalt

Price: $3.00

Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks: July 1998

Seller ID: 51637

ISBN: 0312965338

Condition: Used - Good


As the climbers of the 1996 Mt. Everest disaster vanished into thin air, one man had the courage to bring them down alive... On May 10, 1996, two commercial expeditions headed by expert leaders attempted to scale the world's largest peak. But things went terribly wrong. Crowded conditions, bad judgement, and a bitter storm stopped many climbers in their tracks. Others were left for dead, or stranded on the frigid mountain. Anatoli Boukreev, head climbing guide for the Mountain Madness expedition, stepped into the heart of the storm and brought three of his clients down alive. Here is his a... View more info

Image for Return to Treasure Island and the Search for Captain Kidd

Return to Treasure Island and the Search for Captain Kidd

By: Barry Clifford, Paul Perry

Price: $6.00

Publisher: William Morrow: November 2003

Seller ID: 75639

ISBN: 0060185090

Condition: Used - Good


When history's most famous pirate, Captain Kidd, was hanged in 1701, he left behind a trail of treasure and treachery that stretched halfway around the world. For undersea explorer Barry Clifford, the biggest prize of all would be to find the Adventure Galley, Kidd's legendary pirate ship. In the world of pirate archaeology, it was the Holy Grail.With the help of the Discovery Channel, Clifford fields an expedition that includes some of America's top experts in shipwreck recovery. Their goal is to find, identify, and possibly excavate the remains of history's most famous pirate ship. The... View more info

Image for Starfist: Flashfire

Starfist: Flashfire

By: David Sherman, Dan Cragg

Price: $2.00

Publisher: Del Rey: March 2007

Seller ID: 34368

ISBN: 0345460553

Condition: Used - Good


Packed with hard-core action written by battle-savvy combat veterans, the explosive Starfist series has become hugely popular across America. Now the saga of the courageous Marines continues in Flashfire, ""as the 34th Fleet Initial Strike Team (FIST) ventures to the edge of Human Space to fight a number of enemies . . . some on their own side. Tensions erupt between the Confederation and several frontier worlds when civilians are shot dead at an army base on the planet Ravenette. Enraged, the Ravenette government and nine neighboring planets form a coalition, and their first act of secess... View more info

Image for Skeletons on the Zahara: A True Story of Survival

Skeletons on the Zahara: A True Story of Survival

By: Dean King

Price: $4.50

Publisher: Back Bay Books: April 2005

Seller ID: 68710

ISBN: 0316159352

Condition: Used - Good


Everywhere hailed as a masterpiece of historical adventure, this enthralling narrative recounts the experiences of twelve American sailors who were shipwrecked off the coast of Africa in 1815, captured by desert nomads, sold into slavery, and subjected to a hellish two-month journey through the bone-dry heart of the Sahara. The ordeal of these men - who found themselves tested by barbarism, murder, starvation, death, dehydration, and hostile tribes that roamed the desert on camelback - is made indelibly vivid in this gripping account of courage, brotherhood, and survival. View more info

Image for Report from Ground Zero: The Story of the Rescue Efforts at the World Trade Center

Report from Ground Zero: The Story of the Rescue Efforts at the World Trade Center

By: Dennis Smith

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Viking Adult: March 2002

Seller ID: 76015

ISBN: 067003116X

Condition: Used - Very Good


The tragic events of September 11, 2001 forever altered the American landscape, both figuratively and literally. Immediately after the jets struck the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, Dennis Smith, a former firefighter, reported to Manhattan's Ladder Co. 16 to volunteer in the rescue efforts. In the weeks that followed, Smith was present on the front lines, attending the wounded, sifting through the wreckage, and mourning with New York's devastated fire and police departments.This is Smith's vivid account of the rescue efforts by the fire and police departments and emergency medical t... View more info

Never Cry Wolf

By: Farley Mowat

Price: $2.00

Publisher: Bantam: October 1983

Seller ID: 33673

ISBN: 0553236245

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace One School at a Time

Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace One School at a Time

By: Greg Mortenson, David Oliver Relin

Price: $4.50

Publisher: Penguin Books: January 2007

Seller ID: 76017

ISBN: 0143038257

Condition: Used - Very Good


The astonishing, uplifting story of a real-life Indiana Jones and his humanitarian campaign to use education to combat terrorism in the Taliban's backyardAnyone who despairs of the individual's power to change lives has to read the story of Greg Mortenson, a homeless mountaineer who, following a 1993 climb of Pakistan's treacherous K2, was inspired by a chance encounter with impoverished mountain villagers and promised to build them a school. Over the next decade he built fifty-five schools--especially for girls--that offer a balanced education in one of the most isolated and dangerous ... View more info

Homeward Bound (Death Lands)

By: James Axler

Price: $2.00

Publisher: Gold Eagle: January 1989

Seller ID: 33946

ISBN: 0373625057

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Kayaks Down the Nile

By: John Goddard

Price: $5.00

Publisher: N/A: January 1979

Seller ID: 24087

ISBN: 0842515755

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Wingman

By: Mack Maloney

Price: $2.00

Publisher: Zebra Books: March 1987

Seller ID: 33971

ISBN: 0821720155

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

By: Robert Kurson

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Random House: June 2004

Seller ID: 76021

ISBN: 0375508589

Condition: Used - Good


In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery-and make history themselves. For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of su... View more info

The Ra Expeditions

By: Thor Heyerdahl

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Doubleday: August 1971

Seller ID: 76018

ISBN: 0385000987

Condition: Used - Good


English edition. Dust jacket is worn. View more info

Image for A Wolverine Is Eating My Leg

A Wolverine Is Eating My Leg

By: Tim Cahill

Price: $5.00

Publisher: Vintage: February 1989

Seller ID: 44959

ISBN: 067972026X

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Travels Through France and Italy (Marlboro Travel)

Travels Through France and Italy (Marlboro Travel)

By: Tobias Smollett

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Marlboro Press: October 1997

Seller ID: 28298

ISBN: 0810160536

Condition: Used - Good


"Traduced by malice, persecuted by fiction, abandoned by false patrons, and overwhelmed by the sense of a domestic calamity," Tobias Smollett set off on a journey through France and Italy to relieve his despair. While there, he wrote regularly to his friends, and the result is this fascinating, wholeheartedly personal account of places and he encountered. "Travels through France and Italy" is a landmark work in travel literature. Full of prejudice, grousing, sharp observation, and caustic satire, it is the first travel book in modern literature to go beyond the simple conveyance of informa... View more info

Image for Spymistress: The Life of Vera Atkins, the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II

Spymistress: The Life of Vera Atkins, the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II

By: William Stevenson

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Arcade Publishing: November 2006

Seller ID: 22104

ISBN: 1559707631

Condition: Used - Good


From the bestselling author of A Man Called Intrepid comes the first and only biography of Vera Atkins, of whom James Bond creator Ian Fleming said, 'In the real world of spies, Vera Atkins was the boss.' Vera Atkins was an attractive young woman with smoky eyes and lustrous black hair. She belonged to a wealthy family and dined with ambassadors and kings. She could have been a socialite, but in the cataclysmic days of World War II, Vera Atkins became Great Britain's spymistress. View more info

Image for Code Name: Survival

Code Name: Survival

By: William W. Johnstone

Price: $2.00

Publisher: Pinnacle: October 2000

Seller ID: 1203

ISBN: 0786011513

Condition: Used - Very Good


The Code Name series features ex-CIA agent John Barrone. For 20 years, Barrone fought his country's dirty back-alley wars. Now, he spearheads a secret strike force of elite law enforcement and intelligence professionals on a seek-and-destroy mission against America's sworn enemies."Code Name: Survival" finds Barrone and his elite army locked in a high-speed guerilla war to stop an outlaw biker gang from overrunning the American Southwest. View more info